Skip to content

Lovely summer home in leafy Mui Wo 1400 sqft+roof

Entire house hosted by Rob And Christine
9 guests5 bedrooms3 beds2 baths
Entire home
You’ll have the house to yourself.
Enhanced Clean
This host committed to Airbnb's 5-step enhanced cleaning process.
Guests often search for this popular amenity
Top two floors (1400 sqft) of a three-storey village house, tucked away in a tranquil part of Mui Wo, 10 min bike ride/25 min walk from Mui Wo pier (30 min ferry from Central), walking distance to trails and 10 min bike ride to waterfalls and the beach. Spacious and bright. Total of 5 guest rooms sleeping up to 6 adults & 3 children. 2 bathrooms. Green views from both floors and 700 sq ft roof. Ideal for families with young children as plenty of space to run around with toys & books to enjoy.

The space
*In line with local laws we can only offer our place for stays of 28 days or longer*


This is our home so it's pretty homey!

We own the middle, upper floor and rooftop of a 3-storey village house, with a private entrance. Downstairs is where the dining area is, plus a smaller living room, kitchen, bathroom (bath and shower) and one bedroom with a double bed, another bedroom (with a double sofa bed), both bedrooms can be turned into studies if working remotely is required. Upstairs is where the big play area is, with the master bedroom (King-sized bed), and two children's rooms (one with one child's bed, plus an extra child-sized mattress if needed, the other with a cot), and a big bathroom (separate bath and shower). There's also a projector and screen in the play room where you can watch movies/chill out as a family or just yourselves in the evenings. The roof is where we normally dry our clothes, have a meal and play in the paddling pool!

It's in a quiet spot and you can hear the lovely birds singing throughout the day. One of our favourite spots is the roof, where the kids can play in the paddling pool and we can have a relaxed meal or a drink or two. Another favourite spot is the play room upstairs where we can watch movies on the projector screen!

We have two adult bicycles (with child seats at the back), an adult scooter, a kids scooter, a kids bike (for 4-5 years old) and a balance bike which you'd be welcome to borrow.

We are well equipped with a Stokke high chair, an Ikea high chair, a booster chair and kids cutlery for young children. We can even offer you our Ergobaby bouncer for really little ones! Just ask!

*We might consider longer stays during certain months; please send us a message if you're interested*


Free washer – In unit
Free dryer – In unit
Central air conditioning
Patio or balcony
Children’s books and toys
High chair

Select check-in date

Add your travel dates for exact pricing
Add date
Add date

2 reviews


Hong Kong, New Territories, Hong Kong

*In line with local laws we can only offer our place for stays of 28 days or longer*

We live on the edge of one of the villages in Mui Wo, which is a 10-minute bike ride or 25-minute walk from Mui Wo pier.

Next to our house is a Chinese temple which is often empty and quiet, and the other side of us is the hills and jungle. Our neighbours are all pretty friendly - there are 3 friendly (but they bark!) dogs living in the downstairs flat but they're either indoor or behind the fence.

Within a 10 minute walk from us is the start of the Nam Shan trail which is a lovely hike up to Nam Shan, and beyond. Within a 25 minute walk is the beginning of the Olympic Trail to Tung Chung. Along the way is a waterfall, and then about 10 minutes walk from there is a hidden waterfall with stunning views (we can give you directions to that).

If you like the beach (when it's open), Silvermine Bay beach is just 10 minutes bike ride or 20 minutes walk away. It's the perfect way to spend a morning or afternoon or the whole day! There are little kiosks along the beach selling drinks and snacks, and at weekends the famed China Beach Club restaurant at the end of the beach serves amazing western food and the best apple crumble in Hong Kong!

You can also venture further beyond, by taking a bus or taxi to Pui O beach (10 minutes), or Cheung Sha beach (20 minutes). Lovely beaches there with some restaurants along the beach too.

There are several lovely restaurants to choose from in Mui Wo town itself - be it Chinese, Italian, Indian, Nepalese or Thai, you name it! There's also Wellcome and Fusion, and a 7-eleven (even a MacDonald's), plus stationery shops and an organic vegetable shop, and a very lovely artisan bakery selling everything from sourdough bread to HK style egg tarts.

Halfway between the Mui Wo town and our house are the post office, the government clinic, sports centre (with a library and badminton courts, and a public gym), and the Mui Wo swimming pool (normally open April to October), the Mui Wo wet market plus a handful of eateries offering Chinese and Vietnamese food.

Hosted by Rob And Christine

Joined in May 2015
  • 2 Reviews
Hi, we are a married couple with two young children. We currently live on a leafy island in Hong Kong where there are cows and water buffaloes walking around! Rob is a travel author and Christine is a full-time mum, whilst our boys are learning a new trick every day!
Hi, we are a married couple with two young children. We currently live on a leafy island in Hong Kong where there are cows and water buffaloes walking around! Rob is a travel autho…
During your stay
We might or might not be available in person but we will ensure you are given the keys promptly and will be around on the phone to help with any questions!
  • Languages: 中文 (简体), English
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

Things to know

House rules
Check-in: 2:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Checkout: 12:00 PM
No smoking
No pets
No parties or events
Health & safety
Committed to Airbnb's enhanced cleaning process. Show more
Airbnb's social-distancing and other COVID-19-related guidelines apply
Carbon monoxide alarm
Smoke alarm
Cancellation policy

Explore other options in and around Hong Kong

More places to stay in Hong Kong: